The green thing I do

I always water the plants, and I don’t frequently use air conditioning since it releases harmful gases. I also recycle paper.
-Norman John,12, PerakThe greenest thing I‘ve done was for a competition during the recycling day at my school when I was 10 years old. I made a Petronas Twin Tower using plastic bottles and aluminium cans. I won second place.
-Dheepan Perisamy, 16, Kuala Lumpur

Hmm…I guess this can be considered green. I got bored of my long denim jeans so I cut it into shorts and used the remaining bits as material for a bag I made myself. And I‘m still using it now!
-Alicia Foo, 16, Malacca

When trekking through the National Park in Pahang, I donated my remaining pocket money to the Adopt-A-Fish programme at the Ikan Kelah Sanctuary, which was established to protect the endangered gold-finned river fish.
-Goh Ni Kol, 16, Kuala Lumpur

I help my dad make our own compost. We really enjoy doing it. From piling up our vegetable and fruit peelings in our aired container to maintaining its moisture levels to finally using the black and powdery product for our vegetable and flower garden. The long process gets the two of us feeling somewhat content.
-Thulsimalar Shunmugathason,17, Malacca

I always sort the paper to give to the recycling lorry that goes around with ‘Sau Gao Pou Chi’.  I use both sides of the paper. I do not leave the tap on when brushing my teeth. I do not use the air-conditioner at night when it‘s chilly, and the list goes on. I hope these little actions will conserve and preserve our environment!
-Eer Kai Song, 16, Selangor

I cut down on my consumption of beef.The production of one kg of beef releases the equivalent of 36.4 kg of carbon, not counting the other harmful gases.
-Alicia Loh, 15, Selangor

When moved to a new house a few years ago, my mother and I realised that there were no trees around the neighbourhood. My siblings, my parents and I planted trees throughout the area. Now there are banana trees, papaya trees and even chilli plants in our neighbourhood.

-Patricia Anne Naikar-Roges,17, Kuala Lumpur

To tell the truth, the greenest thing I have ever done is just watering the plants and trees in my house garden!
-Ruth Kezia Hope Muthu,15, Negri Sembilan

I use rechargeable batteries and recycling newspapers.
-Bhavina Kaur,14, Kuala Lumpur

Article Source http://www.nst.com.my/channels/niexter/survey-the-green-thing-i-do-1.82249

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 783 other followers

